Pin on Pinterest
Co-chairs: Victoria Brown, Nicolette Lamont and Flauren Bender

Hundreds of Planned Parenthood supporters gathered at The Winspear for a conversation with acclaimed actress, Connie Britton and Cynt Marshall, Dallas Mavericks CEO. The real star of the show was a million dollar gift from the Eugene McDermott Foundation.

Co-chairs of the Planned Parenthood 33rd Annual Dallas Awards, Flauren Bender, Victoria Brown and Nicolette Lamont, promised a special morning for guests and they delivered on Wednesday. December 6th.  Ken Lambrecht, Planned Parenthood of Greater Texas President and CEO, announced that $2.261 million which includes $1 million from the Eugene McDermott Foundation was raised to promote, support and improve sexual and reproductive health and education.

The night before the event, VIP guests were treated to sumptuous hors d’oeuvres and cocktails at the newly reopened Mirador Restaurant atop downtown Forty Five Ten.  The VIP reception was generously underwritten by Headington Companies and Forty Five Ten.

Guests at the Winspear listened to actress Connie Britton and Mavericks CEO Cynt Marshall in a lively discussion, and Averie Bishop, first Asian American woman to win the title of Miss Texas, made a special appearance to stress the importance of diversity and inclusion, and the fight for reproductive healthcare.  The mission driven event was highlighted by a performance from the Voices of Light Gospel Choir who opened the morning for an enthusiastic, up on their feet audience.

The Gertrude Shelburne Humanitarian Award was presented to honoree Jolie Newman, a dedicated community volunteer, fundraiser, and advocate for women's health and educational initiatives who has long supported Planned Parenthood for over thirty years.

For more information, go to


Recognize 892 Views